Soft Pretzels with Hot Mustard, Herbed Butter, & Oktoberfest Beer Cheese Dip

More Oktoberfest recipes! I wanted to make a soft pretzel “bar” with a few different sauce/dips one night and they turned out great! The herbed butter was by far everyone’s favorite, and the beer cheese dip turned out good and had the bite of the beer, but I think next time I’ll be making a cashew cheese base instead of just a processed vegan cheese. But for something quick and has that cheesy/tangy flavor of a beer cheese, it works just fine!

prezel-dipping-station

So I couldn’t find soft pretzels at the store, but they did have pretzel hoagie buns and I went with that. It was nice since we could all just slowly break apart the soft pretzel bread and dip it. It worked out great! I already had hot mustard in the fridge since James uses it for his lunch, so I used that for one of the sauces. One day I want to try to make my own. The other two is a German Herbed Butter Sauce, and an Oktoberfest Beer Cheese sauce.

German Herbed Butter Sauce

german-herbed-butter-sauce

This was by far our favorite. We knew what the spicy mustard was going to taste like, and that is always great with pretzels. But the salty, tangy, rich, and freshness of this butter sauce… let’s just say there was nothing left in this little bowl! This is “veganized” from a recipe for German butter that is used to go on top of cooked meat, like steak, but I figure it would be just as good on pretzels!

German Herbed Butter Sauce

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks of earth balance butter
  • 1 tbsp each of fresh chives, tarragon, rosemary, & thyme
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • Dash of Worchestershire sauce
  • 1 small clove of garlic, minced
  • Dash of salt

Directions

  1. Warm butter to room temperature. Add all ingredients and whip together.
  2. Serve immediately or store in the fridge and let sit a few minutes before serving.

Oktoberfest Beer Cheese Dip

white-beer-cheese-dip

This came out creamy and tangy at the end with the beer. I’m going to try to do this again with a cashew cheese I’ve made before and I think it will give it the extra kick I was looking for. But still an all around great and easy cheese dip!

Oktoberfest Beer Cheese Dip

  • Servings: Makes 2 cups cheese sauce
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1/8 c butter
  • 1/8 c flour
  • 6 oz Oktoberfest Beer
  • 1 small cloves garlic, minced (optional)
  • 2-3 cups shredded cheese (I used Daiya Mozarella cheese since it has more of a tangy flavor than mozarella, I don’t really see it as mozarella), if wanting to make it non-vegan, use a white cheddar.

Directions

  1. Melt the butter in a small/medium sauce pan, non-stick would be the best. Slowly add in the flour and whisk to make a roux. Once the flour and butter are combined, add in the beer a small amount at a time and allow it to thicken and heat through. Add the minced garlic for flavor if using, and then add in the shredded cheese and stir until it is completely melted and creamy.
  2. Serve warm, and dip away!

One thought on “Soft Pretzels with Hot Mustard, Herbed Butter, & Oktoberfest Beer Cheese Dip

Leave a comment