Honey Dijon Chicken/Chickpeas with Red Potatoes and Carrots

Do you ever remember the easy meals you used to make before going plant based?

This was one of the meals I thought of when I was trying to think of different low-fat weekday meals for our family. It was something I made before going plant based and it was so easy! You make the Honey Dijon sauce, chop up your carrots and potatoes, throw them in a baking dish, top with 2 chicken breast and the sauce and bake! Clean up while it’s in the oven. And done! It’s all in one dish, and a full dinner in a short amount of time! Low-fat, easy, and a good light weekday meal.

Of course there are some easy meals that are plant based as well, but now trying to make two separate meals at the same time can get cumbersome. Of course, I don’t mind cooking, and when I really want something or want to try something new, I don’t care how long it might take to make it, when I have the time, I’m making it! And I know I do it to myself, but somethings are worth the extra effort for sure. But for some reason my mind has to go through all the ‘complicated’ methods to come back around to something simple.

When I remembered this dish I was trying to think of different ways I could make my plant based version. I could make my own seitan ‘chicken’. Sure – but I don’t want to spend that much time making the dough, steaming it, and then preparing it before even making the meal! How about a mushroom? I don’t want my potatoes and carrots to be mushy with the water that comes off of it. I could buy the processed ‘chicken’ breast. Sure, but I don’t like to rely on those and they are mainly soy, and that requires another trip to the store. What am I going to do?! And then I remembered chickpeas. (insert facepalm here)

Why am I thinking of all these things that require either me going to the store, adding another recipe to the dinner, or being uncertain about the outcome, when all I could do is just toss some chickpeas in with the vegetables and the sauce and bake it just the same. The only difference is that there are 2 baking dishes instead of one.

Either way, after all that, it came out delicious. We had a simple shared meal that was healthy and low-fat, and we were both satisfied. Now hopefully I’ve learned something here and the next time I think of an old easy recipe that I used to make, my mind won’t take me the long way to get to a simple delicious result.

Honey Dijon Chicken with Red Potatoes and Carrots

  • Servings: Chicken: 8x8 pan, 2 servings, Chickpeas: 8x8 pan, 1-2 servings
  • Print

[recipe-note]
When I had made this and took pictures of it, I had 4 large chicken breast that I had cut in half, and I was feeding more than just James and I, but to have a true side by side meal that is equal portions, the recipe is as follows.
[/recipe-note]

Ingredients

    PLANT-BASED
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked chickpeas, or 1 can chickpeas, drained
  • salt and pepper
  • MEAT-BASED
  • 2 boneless chicken breast, patted dry
  • salt and pepper
  • SAUCE
  • 1/4 cup honey, or dark agave, divided (1/8, and 1/8)
  • 1/4 cup dijon mustard, divided (1/8, and 1/8)
  • dizzle of olive oil
  • 2 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped, divided (1 tbsp, and 1 tbsp)
  • VEGETABLES
  • 10-12 oz bag of red potatoes, quartered
  • 1 8oz bag of baby carrots
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Toss your chopped potatoes and baby carrots in a bowl with enough olive oil to coat, salt and pepper and 1 tbsp of rosemary. Once your vegetables are prepared, throw 1/2 into one baking dish, 1/2 into the other.
  3. In the same bowl, make the honey dijon sauce for your chickpeas. Mix together 1/8 cup honey or agave, 1/8 cup dijon mustard, olive oil, and 1 tbsp rosemary. Pour your drained chickepeas into the bowl and coat with the mixture. Top one of the baking dishes with the coated chickpeas.
  4. Repeat for the chicken. Mix the rest of the honey, dijon, salt and pepper, and rosemary in the bowl. Take the chicken breasts and coat. Top the other baking dish with the coated chicken.
  5. Bake for 30-35 minutes uncovered. I had to put the chicken breast in there for an additional 5 minutes because they were so large.
  6. Let it cool for about 5-10 minutes, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

