My Anniversary Trip to Palo Duro Canyon

Hello all!

Last month was our 7th year anniversary! We took a small road trip (5 1/2 hours) to Amarillo and went to Palo Duro Canyon State Park. Since I had posted not that long ago about Roadtripping with a Mixed Food Family, I wanted to share with you our trip and how we did it, what I found, and how I prepared.

I just wanted to say, that for vacations, and on special nights, like our anniversary dinner nights, I’m not strict. I don’t want to worry about food, I just want to enjoy myself and my husband wherever we are without it being that big of a deal. With that being said, I try my best without it being a “deal” to stay plant based, but with some things, as you will see, I don’t mind having these times as my “cheat” days or meals. I don’t like calling it that because I don’t feel like I’m cheating on anything – I just feel like it’s a special time and I’ll eat what I want – whether that’s plant based or vegetarian.


So before the trip we went to get some snacks and I made sure our hotel has a small fridge in it so I could bring a few things. Some of the things I brought with me were energy bars, peanut butter crackers, waters, (for the hikes and for the road trip since there is no place to stop) and then some cashew cheese to have in the fridge to snack on in the hotel. James brought some of his favorite snacks and drinks as well and we were off!

We decided to eat somewhere we were somewhat familiar with and somewhere we didn’t need to look nice and our road trip clothes looked appropriate since we got to Amarillo and checked into the hotel at 6:00 pm. We found out there was a Buffalo Wild Wings right down the street so we went there. Of course not thinking about how noisy it would be and how many kids/families would be there since it was spring break – oops. But all in all it was good. James was able to get wings, I found out they had a veggie burger – vegetarian, not vegan, but seeing how hungry I was when we got there, I didn’t mind. It’s vacation right? But come to find out they did have hummus with veggies and pita bread you could get. So good to know. I was just tired of snacking by that point.

The next day, Wednesday, was the day went to Palo Duro State Park. We had the free breakfast at the hotel which I found fruit and plain oatmeal that I could add pecans to and coffee. Then we packed up the rest of the waters and the snacks that wouldn’t spoil in the backpack and headed off!

It was so beautiful! The weather was spectacular! The morning was chilly and windy, but we had enough layers it wasn’t too bad. Plus they have a gallery/museum place that talked about the area so we were able to be inside for about 45 minutes so it could warm up a little. The morning was in the 40s and by the time we left by mid-late afternoon, it was only in the low 70’s, and clear, clear, clear. We could see everything!

We needed a break from the city and life, and we needed silence. Palo Duro Canyon helped with both those things. The trials we went on were perfect for what we wanted and needed. We didn’t go for exercise, but went to clear our minds and just be together. And that place allowed us to do just that. The 2 trails we went on they were not too strenuous and we took our time and talked and took pictures (obviously lol). The park does have a “restaurant” which is just like burgers, hot dogs, and sandwiches, but we stopped there to get a few souvenirs, a cold drink, and to sit before going to the next trail.

We left about 4:00 pm to head back to the hotel and freshen up before dinner. We ended up at the nicest Italian place we could find in Amarillo, but they didn’t  just have spaghetti. So I ended up getting a veggie pasta in a light sauce, but it was still vegetarian. After the pasta and some wine we were stuffed so no dessert that night, but that’s okay since we planned to get doughnuts in the morning before our road trip.

Before we left on Thursday we headed to Cadillac Ranch in Amarillo. It was something I always wanted to do and wanted to see. Here is the Wiki page about it! When we got there, there were people coming and going and I realized I forgot spray paint! One of the main reasons why we wanted to be there and be able to mark our spot! As we walked up to the cars there were people leaving and saw we didn’t have anything and just gave us their used spray paint! It was awesome! So we were able to mark our spot and mark that we made it 7 years!

That night I went to the store and just got snacks and things we could just pop in the oven like vegan taquitos, sweet potato tots, James had his pizza rolls, and we just got ready for the rest of the week. It was a great little getaway! If you have a chance to go to Palo Duro, GO! There’s not much else around there to do, but it’s definitely a special spot.

I’ll be posting more road trips with what we did and how we managed our mixed-food family on the road. I hope you enjoyed the post!

One thought on “My Anniversary Trip to Palo Duro Canyon

Leave a Reply

