Garlic Herb Baked Pasta with Miyoko’s Double Cream Garlic Herb Cheese

I had tried Miyoko’s Garlic Herb cheese back in November, and I fell in love. I had been wanting to make a garlic herb pasta for a while, and now I had even more of a reason to. It came out great! And best of all it is plant based, and if you have whole wheat noodles it’s that much healthier. Even James really liked it and went back for seconds.

I’ll going to try to make my own dairy free herb cheese since I know not all of you have easy access to Miyoko’s Cheese, but for now this is the recipe I made, and here is their website: http://miyokoskitchen.com/ 

I promise if you order anything, you will not be disappointed! Everything I’ve tried so far has been great!

garlic-herb-baked-pasta-with-lid_top

Something that I’ve learned and now will be doing more often with my pasta dishes, when you bake the pasta the sauce attaches to it. Sometimes with sauces the pasta will soak up the sauce and then the leftovers taste bland. I was afraid that this was going to happen, especially since it didn’t look that creamy, but most of the flavor stayed when I had leftovers for supper one night! So now I’ll be more into baking my pastas instead of tossing sauce on top of it.

Garlic Herb Baked Pasta

  • Servings: 6-8 servings, makes 9x13 pan
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. rotini pasta
  • 1 tsp oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 zucchini, sliced thin, cut in 1/2 moons
  • 1 carrot, sliced thin, cut into 1/2 moons
  • 8 oz cherry tomotoes, sliced in half
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 pkg. Miyoko’s Double Cream Garlic Herb Cheese
  • 2 cups unsweetened original plant based milk
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Nut Parmesan, optional

When I cut the tomatoes, I squeeze out the juice and seeds and then chop it so that the juice doesn’t mix with the cheese sauce.

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cook pasta to package directions, set aside.
  3. In a large sauce pan, heat oil over medium high heat and add in the onion and cook until translucent.
  4. Add in zucchini, carrot slices, and tomatoes, and heat through for a few minutes. Add in garlic until fragrant. Add in thyme, and then the plant based milk. Pinch off small pieces of the cheese and add until all the cheese in the sauce pan. Add in the nutritional yeast and stir until all is combined and it starts to simmer. Taste and add salt and pepper if desired. Turn off heat.
  5. Combine the sauce/veggie mixture with the pasta. Stir until combined. Add to a baking dish. For me it filled a 4 quart Corningware dish. Put in the oven, covered, for 20-30 minutes.
  6. Take the pan out and let cool for a few minutes before serving. Top with Nut Parmesan if desired and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

