Thai Coconut Soup

I wanted to make a fish, chicken, and soy free version of Tom Kha Gai soup so after looking up a few things about it and looking at a few vegan versions I figured out what I was going to do.

coconut-thai-soup_side

It ended up being a lot more filling than I thought, and it ended up tasting a lot better than I expected. And this was the first time I’ve used fresh oyster mushrooms, and I will now be trying to figure out how and when to add these to my recipes whenever I can. They smell like yeast rolls. Not even kidding. I’m so glad to have an Asian market so close to where I live that I can get a lot of these ingredients at a great price and all fresh.

So if you are looking for a creamy, spicy, filling but still light soup to have, try this! This will be on my list of “get well” soups from now on.

Thai Coconut Soup

  • Servings: 4 Servings
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2 cans (14 oz.) coconut milk
  • 2 cans water, or 28oz water
  • 1 “chicken” boullion cube
  • 6 quarter-size slices fresh ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 stalk fresh lemongrass, cut in 1-in. pieces
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups garbanzo beans (or 1 15oz can)
  • 1 cup oyster mushrooms
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon Worchestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Thai chili paste
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro

Directions

  1. In a medium saucepan, combine coconut milk, water (fill the cans of coconut milk with water so that there is 1/2 coconut milk, and 1/2 water), bouillon, ginger, and lemongrass and bring to boil over high heat.
  2. Add garbanzo beans, mushrooms, lime juice, Worchestershire sauce, and chili paste. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Discard lemongrass. Garnish servings with fresh basil and cilantro.

One thought on “Thai Coconut Soup

Leave a Reply

