Rivals

rivals_angle

Here is another family recipe, although I don’t have a picture of the recipe since there wasn’t one until I decided to try to veganize it. It was made by look and feel, not by numbers. Rivals are German dumplings that are made with eggs and flour – no more no less. Then you add it to a simple potato soup and top it off with apple cider vinegar and salt and pepper! Starch lovers UNITE!

Our family would always make a huge pot of this. When I say huge, I mean like gallons worth. Of course at the time we had 6 people at the dinner table – all of which loved rivals. So it only took a few days to completely devour it. I don’t really have a specific memory of this since we had it so often but I do remember fighting over the biggest “rival” and was jealous when I didn’t get it.

rivals_corner

Since then I’ve been trying to come up with a good alternative to make rivals that would have close to the same texture and taste as the egg/flour combo. So instead I decided to make garbanzo bean “eggs” and then added flour until it was a dough. Doing it again I found out measurements that work, so now you don’t have to guess!

Rivals

  • Servings: 4 servings
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 5 medium potatoes, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • apple cider vinegar, to serve
  • RIVALS
  • 3/4 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

Directions

  1. Add the potatoes and onion to a medium-large pot. I put the onion on top so I can measure the water. Add in the water until the onions float right above the potatoes. Heat to a low boil.
  2. Meanwhile, make the rival dough. Whisk together garbanzo bean flour and water in a medium bowl. In a large bowl, add flour and make a well. Add the garbanzo mixture to the center and start mixing in the flour with your hands. Do not over mix. Make sure the dough stays tacky. it does not have to be completely mixed to a smooth dough. It will look ugly. Once it’s a flaky mass of dough and the soup is simmering, drop 1 inch pieces in the soup until all rivals are in the pot. They will start to float once they are done. If there is any flour or crumbs at the bottom of the rival bowl toss that into the pot to thicken the stew.
  3. Taste and season with salt and pepper if desired. It will not have a strong taste.
  4. Serve with apple cider vinegar to drizzle on top. I use a lot of vinegar because I like it so I’ll add about 1-2 tablespoons to my bowl, but about 1-2 teaspoons usually does it. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Rivals

Leave a Reply

