Garbanzo Eggs

garbanzo-egg-breakfast

So when I became plant based I would make the tofu scrambled eggs here and there because I wanted something savory for breakfast. But being allergic to soy it was sparse and I tried to find a better solution. I heard a lot about using garbanzo flour for the base, and I was hesitant. But since then I’ve kept garbanzo flour on hand just to whip these up any time I want! Here is my basic recipe and you can change up the seasonings and add whatever veggies/cheese/etc to it you’d like.

ganbanzo-egg-2-ways

When I first made the eggs I used water, but because it’s flour, water, and seasonings, it would come out somewhat dry. So I used plant-based milk instead, usually unsweetened original almond milk, and that helped. Well then the huge buzz about aquafaba came out. And I figure why not? It would add to the garbanzo flavor that gives it an egg-like smell and flavor, and if it acts as an egg-replacer and makes things moist and fluffy, it’s a win win! And it was! So if you can use aquafaba I highly recommend it, if not unsweetened plant-based milks will work, and even water will be fine too. Especially if you are going to add salsa, or some type of a sauce or gravy, it’s not going to matter if it’s a little more dry or not.

I’m still testing out aquafaba and trying to use it as a simple egg replacement in baking, but the one time I did, it didn’t turn out well. Although it was more watery than usual. If you’ve tried it and have any experience with it, please let me know if there are some tricks!

Garbanzo Flour Eggs

  • Servings: 2 scrambled eggs
  • Print

1 egg equals 1/4 cup garbanzo flour and 1/4 cup liquid

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup garbanzo (or chickpea) flour
  • 1/2 cup aquafaba (or water, or unsweetened plant-based milk)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of tumeric – for color
  • sprinkle of salt and pepper
  • (If you have kala namak salt, use that to give it an extra egg taste and smell)

Directions

  1. Whisk together all ingredients. Add to heated skillet on medium heat – use butter or small amount of oil if it’s not a non-stick skillet.
  2. If you are going to add any veggies or cheese to it, cook them and add them in once the “eggs” are in the skillet to ensure that the veggies are cooked through.
  3. It will be like a pancake mixture. If you want scrambled eggs chop up the “eggs” every few minutes after the mixture has cooked a little, if you want more of an omelet then let it cook like a pancake. After the batter starts to bubble, check the bottom of the “pancake” and see if it’s starting to brown. Once flipped add the cheese and cooked veggies on 1/2 of the omelet and then fold in half and let it finish cooking all the way through, which should only be a few minutes on each side.
  4. Serve warm and enjoy!

One thought on “Garbanzo Eggs

Leave a comment