Chickpea/Chicken & Apple Salad

I love chicken and tuna salads. It was something easy and depending on how you made it, a healthy lunch or snack. After switching to eating plant based I was trying to find a replacement. At wholefoods they make a GREAT “chicken” salad in their fridge section. But it’s made with soy, it’s heavy, and can really mess up my day. It’s on my “indulgent” list but I have to be careful with it. So although there was that option and it’s really convenient, it wasn’t a wise choice for myself. Now what do I do?

chickpea-salad-with-apples_side

Once I found out how to make a chicken or tuna salad with chickpeas it opened up a whole new world for me! I’ve made this I don’t know how many times, how many different ways I’ve ate it, and how many different types I’ve made. But this one is my main go-to version. I always use to make my chicken or tuna salad with apples, and one day I just used whatever else sounded good and what I had on hand. We always have onions and cherry or grape tomatoes at the house, so those always go into it.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Chickpea/Chicken & Apple Salad

  • Servings: serves 2 if only doing 1 version, a plant-based or meat based, double the condiments and seasonings if making a shared recipe
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 15 oz can of chickpeas (1 1/2 cups), OR 1 large chicken breast, cooked and shredded
  • 1/4 cup vegan mayo
  • 2 tbsp yellow mustard
  • sqeeze of lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup diced apples
  • handful of cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions

    MEAT BASED:
  1. Mix together the mayo, mustard, and lemon juice. Fold in apples, tomatoes, onion. Mix in the shredded chicken, add salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy by itself or make a sandwich with it.
  2. PLANT BASED:
  3. Take the chickpea and if in a can, drain them. Add to a food processor or a blender and pulse to chop up.
  4. If you want the garbanzo beans to have some texture, scoop out the chopped garbanzo beans and mix with the dressing, fruit, and veggies. If you want it more smooth, add the mayo, mustard, and lemon juice and blend in the food processor or blender until smooth like hummus. Take the mixture and put in a bowl and mix in the fruits and vegetables. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Enjoy by itself, with crackers, or as a sandwich!

One thought on “Chickpea/Chicken & Apple Salad

Leave a Reply

