Simple Herb Bread Dressing

Hello again! Dressing/Stuffing is one of my favorite fall time recipes! I’ll fill my plate up with dressing before any other starch. And of course something else to smother in my Brown or White Gravy! I wanted to share with you a Simple Herb Dressing that I make on the stove. There will be others, I’m sure, that I’ll make but this is always my go-to recipe.

herb-bread-stuffing-over

This is also the recipe that I make and that someone who hated bread stuffing, loves. A lot of bread dressings/stuffing recipes end up being too mushy or it’s just the box stuffing that you make that has who knows what in it, but this is fluffy, but heavy at the same time. Take it in doses!

herb-bread-stuffing-corner

Simple Herb Bread Dressing

  • Servings: 12-13 cups
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of earth balance
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 12 cups dry unseasoned bread crumbs
  • 4-5 cups vegetable broth

Directions

  1. Melt butter in large pot on medium heat. Add celery and onion and cook for 5-7 minutes. Stir in thyme, poultry seasoning, and pepper.
  2. Add bread crumbs and slowly stir so that everything is mixed completely. If needed, start slowing adding in the vegetable broth to help mix. Once 4 cups of vegetable broth is poured in make sure it’s distributed throughout. If parts are still dry, add the other cup.
  3. Turn heat off and serve!

Leave a Reply

