Mexican Spice Brownies

Hello all! I have had a dilemma recently – I have been craving brownies and that craving didn’t go away for weeks! Those googy, warm, chocolaty squares! Well… once we had a few cloudy cool days here I decided to heat up our oven! By the time I was able to make the brownies I had found a really simple brownie recipe and I was going to test out “aquafaba” and just replace the eggs with that.

Well… it ended up being an oil gooey mess that took about 4 rounds of cleaning to clean out the pan, even though I greased it before! We tasted it and other than it being oily, it tasted like brownies, but nothing else resembled them. So some had put it on top of ice cream and ate it like that, but I was not satisfied and feeling frustrated.

They tried to help, “Why don’t you use bananas?” “What about pumpkin?” “Flax eggs always work.” I know I can use those things to replace eggs, but I don’t want my brownies to taste like bananas or pumpkin. And by then I was determined not to use an egg substitute at all, so the flax eggs were out of the question. By then it was too late! I just wanted a warm gooey large squares of heavy rich chocolaty goodness, and what was suppose to work didn’t, and I was brownie-less. All I could think of was “first world problems”. The longer I stewed the more picky I got. And then simple brownies wasn’t good enough, I wanted Mexican spices with it too.

mexican-spice-brownies

So in my next attempt a few days later, these happened! This was originally the “Vegan Brownie Recipe” from All Recipes, which just skipped over the egg replacements ! : ) I edited it to make it richer with the coffee to bring out more of the chocolate flavor and added the Mexican spices.

It was what I wanted. It was rich, chocolaty, not too sweet but definitely sweet enough, soft, and just enough spice to warm your throat! YES!

I hope y’all enjoy it as much as I did!

Mexican Spice Brownies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup coffee
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp chipotle chili powder

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9×13 baking pan.
  2. Mix water, coffee, vegetable oil, and vanilla in a medium mixing bowl.
  3. In a separate large bowl mix the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and the chipotle chili powder.
  4. Stir the dry ingredients with the wet mixture and stir until just combined. Do not over mix.
  5. Pour mixture, or more or less spoon mixture, into the 9×13 pan and spread evenly. I had to use my hands to make sure it was even and to be able to spread it. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the top is no longer shiny and liquid. I was getting scared but by the last 10-15 minutes it starts to rise a little and start to look like brownies : )
  6. Cool for about 10-15 minutes. DIG IN!

3 thoughts on “Mexican Spice Brownies

Leave a Reply

