Verkey – Vegan Turkey

Verkey - 13 - Slices 1

 

I try to be soy-free as much as possible for many reasons, but the main reason is that I’m intolerant to soy. When I went plant-based I had people not only ask where I was going to get my protein, but how I was going to be vegan without soy! When I discovered seitan and saw that it was a soy-free alternative and you can do so much with it, I knew I had to try it.

After trying Field Roast seitan sausages I loved it, so now I had to find a way to make it myself. I tried a basic seitan recipe. Basically just gluten, vegetable broth/water, and some nutritional yeast. It was… okay. It was really rubbery and not the texture I really wanted. But I didn’t get up! Now I know – having some oil, more seasonings, and also adding another ingredient – like mixing gluten and chickpea flour, or adding mashed beans – helps a lot! I also found out that I can’t just eat a huge amount of seitan and not bloat… because it’s gluten, and it expands… Lesson learned. Now when I do use seitan it’s with as much, if not more, veggies, and no bloating. YES! Hence the reason why this recipe is for deli slices.

Now James and I can both have our turkey sandwiches and wraps together!

Hope you enjoy the recipe!

Freezing Instructions: This does make a lot, but I usually freeze 1/2 of it (as slices) so it’s enough for about 2 weeks.

NOTE: This recipe does say it uses soy sauce, but I’ve used a soy-free soy sauce before. The recipe I’ve made before was by Chloe Coscarelli. You’ll see her name a lot here on my blog. Her cookbook was one I use A LOT when I was learning how to cook differently, and still is something I will always go back to. If you need a soy-free soy sauce, her’s is great!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Verkey - Vegan Turkey

  • Servings: 3 1/2 - 4lbs Verkey
  • Print

Ingredients

    Verkey Seasoning
  • 1 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp marjoram
  • 1 tsp tarragon
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp rosemary
  • 2 tsp sage
  • 2 tsp celery seed
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • Verkey Meat

  • 1 cup cannellini beans or white kidney beans
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cup water
  • 4 tbsp soy sauce, or soy-free soy sauce
  • 1 tsp worchestershire sauce
  • Verkey Seasoning
  • 3 cups vital wheat gluten

Directions

  1. Seasoning: Blend all ingredients together so that it is one powder.
  2. Verkey: Mash the beans in a bowl, set aside.
  3. Mix together oil, water, soy sauce, and worchestershire sauce in another bowl. Whisk verkey seasoning with the liquid. Add mashed beans, and mix together.
  4. Add gluten and mix with your hands until combined. It will be wet, and it will be tough and elastic. Knead for 5-10 minutes until it starts to give a little. Shape the gluten into a loaf, wrap it in aluminum foil. Allow room for it to expand a little. Make sure all sides are sealed. You don’t want water leak into the aluminum while the gluten is steaming.
  5. Add seitan pouch to a steamer, or if you are like me and don’t have a big enough steamer, find a big enough skillet with a lid and make sure the water doesn’t burn off while it’s steaming.
  6. Steam for 1 hour. Once the hour is almost done, pre-heat the oven to 350 and bake for 20-30 minutes. This is to make sure the gluten is firm and was cooked all the way through since it’s such a big loaf. You can check it after the hour of steaming and you might not need to put it in the oven.
  7. Let cool. Slice and use in sandwiches and wraps!

5 thoughts on “Verkey – Vegan Turkey

  1. S.E.May says:

    Thank you very much. I try to keep the soy down as well and was looking for something different. I’m asked where my protein will come from as well – and I’m new to this. I’m guessing this question doesn’t go away?

    Like

    • thesharedskillet says:

      Glad I could help! And yeah… the questions in general never stop, but I always try to remember before learning about a plant-based diet that I had a lot of the same questions. And most people ask because they really do want to know. Which that helps when it gets irritating sometimes 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

